September 12 Special


September 12, 2023

The Rooks County Board of Commissioners held a special meeting at the Road and Bridge office with the Road & Bridge and Sanitation Crew Chiefs for the purpose for informing them of the termination of the Road & Bridge and Sanitation Supervisor.

Those present for the meeting:  Commissioners; Chairman, John Ruder, and Members Tim Berland and Kayla Hilbrink.  Road & Bridge employees; Tim Colburn, Ronnie Rudman, Eric Biggs, Mac Palmer, and Sadi Look. Danny Knoll; Sanitation Crew Chief and Mike Klein, Noxious Weed Director. Laura Montgomery, County Clerk was present to record the minutes.

Chairman John Ruder called the meeting to order.

Ruder said the commissioners felt the need for a change of leadership in the road and landfill departments. There was not just one thing but a combination of different events over the last couple of years. The commissioners made the decision to terminate Rich Bouchey effective that morning.

The commissioners are asking the crew chiefs and all other employees in the road and landfill departments to keep doing their job. If something comes up that needs authority or if there are questions, they are to contact one of the commissioners or the county clerk. Purchases and phone calls will continue to go through the secretary Sadie Look.

The position will be posted on the county website, through other websites and in the local newspapers. If anyone in the department is interested, they will need to apply for the position. The position will be open until filled. Hilbrink said the commissioners are reviewing the job description.

Those in attendance asked questions and the commissioners responded.

Look will attend the commissioners’ meetings to present any problems that arise.

With no further discussion or business to transact, Ruder made a motion to adjourn. Berland second the motion and Hilbrink agreed.

Adopted this 12th Day of September, 2023



______________________________________                     ATTEST:

John Ruder, Chairman                                                                    __________________________________

                                                                                                                Laura Montgomery, Certified County Clerk


Kayla Hilbrink, Member



Tim Berland, Member